Right now there is a new Canada Revenue Agency tax refund email scam taking place. The scammers are sending out emails to Canadian email addresses hoping you follow the link and give up your personal details so that they may steal them.
The email subject alone should give this away as a scam – Refund form revenue agency. You would think Canada Revenue would do a better job at spell checking before sending out tax rebate emails. And that’s just it – they don’t notify you by email that you have a return coming. They have your address and they always postal mail it directly to you or post it directly to your bank account if you set it up that way. Never will they email you for any reason regarding a tax refund notice.
If you get the following email it is a scam. Delete it right away and if you have already responded and gave up your personal details you need to contact your local police department and notify them and your bank of what you have done.
Unedited email as we got it:
Tax refund Canada Revenue Agency
Tax refund request submitted.
You will receive a confirmation to your email once your request was processed.
This automatic e-mail is to inform you that the following transaction made on Refund Amount: $386.00The refunding procedure usually takes 5-15 business days, depending on the processing banks as well.
To Get Started, Please Click Here http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/
LALIB – Gestao e Investimentos, Lda.
Rua Brigadeiro Oudinot
Edificio Oudinot, 3rd Floor – Room 317
P-9060-209 Funchal
Madeira, PortugalNote: For security reasons, we recommend that you close your browser after you have finished to complete the online form.
NOTICE:
This e-mail has been sent to you in accordance with all applicable laws and regulations. Its content and any file transmitted along with it is confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to whom they are addressed.
This message contains confidential information and is intended only for the individual named.
The url noted in the email goes to the scam site – 0fees.net. And if you didn’t notice the dead giveaway – the foreign address, we suggest you take an hour and read over this website!